What are YOU giving up for lent?

Good afternoon 🙂

First and foremost, I am not a Catholic.. but I think the idea of ‘lent’ is a good strategy to help better shape a person’s lifestyle, which is why I am partaking in this tradition. Who says you can’t do it because you are not religious? 😀

So, to answer the question/title of my post. I am giving up ‘fat talk’ for lent. I think it would definitely be beneficial to my mind and to those around me who may be tired of my constant jibber jabber over diets, calories, healthier substitutes, cutting out carbs/sugar…ya dee da da! And of course, to nix out the “I feel fat!”, “I ate too much today”, “I need to stop eating sugar” comments!! I believe by refraining from broadcasting these thoughts, I may actually be able to do some mental cleansing. Don’t get me wrong, I am still going to continue to try to eat as healthy as possible, still have my daily hourly sugary indulgences, and sticking to my usual workout routines. I already told my best friend up in Dallas to refrain from talking to me about diets for the next 40 days. So…Wish me luck!

Today’s lunch consisted of leftover Chinese food my mom made last night. I feel like Chinese food all smell the same, even though my co-worker disagrees. Haha, I probably just think my mom’s cooking all smell the same =), maybe that’s more accurate..

Chinese Food

Today’s workout consisted of a 45min cycling class in courtesy of MD Anderson’s Fitness Center. Seriously, one thing I love about my work place is their effort to promote a healthier life style. Our gym has clean, well-kept showers, towels, complimentary blow-dryers, makeup/a-getting-ready section, and water/ice machine…and don’t let me get to the classes. Most of my workouts in my fitness log are the classes I take at work (during my lunch hour, post/pre work of course!). ..lol, I kid you not– I shower more at work than I do at the home. Anywho, the workout today was good– wasn’t too hard but I still tried to push myself… I don’t think I can do spinning more than once a week, although I try to do it twice/wk every now and then. I didn’t sweat that much in class today, which I believe its mainly due to Robinul. Robinul is a medication I currently take to make my Hyperhidrosis more manageable.

It’s not until recently (this year), did i start becoming more comfortable talking about this condition of mine. Hyperhidrosis is a genetic (current assumption) disorder that consists of excessive sweating with or without the cause of body heat/raise in body temperature. It doesn’t sound like a big deal, but in my opinion, unless you have the actual disorder you won’t have any idea how it feels to live with it day by day. I won’t discuss it much here because I do have a lot to say about it and I plan on publishing a post on it soon so more people can be aware of this condition. To learn more, please go to http://www.sweathelp.org/en/

Moving on.. I got this new water bottle from Ross this past Saturday for $5.99 and I love it!
It’s made out of glass (and BPA-free!) with a silicone cover that wraps the outside. I love the bubble design– it’s kinda cute =) There were other color options available, think pink/purple/green/blue/black.. I don’t know if it’s a mind thing, but it makes me want to drink water from such a pretty bottle. By 1pm today, I was already on my third round…(already 40 ounces down!) One thing I love about glass bottles is that I don’t get the plastic-y taste from a regular water bottle I re-use (think Dasani). After a while, I don’t know if it’s just me– but I feel like the plastic breaks down after a while and my water literally taste like plastic! yyyyuck. What I love about this water bottle is that the silicone cover helps prevent the glass from shattering. Of course, I’m not about to throw it on the ground to test this theory out. 😉

Off to the doctor’s office for a follow up to my TB shot. It’s flat– I do not have TB. *lol…
(vaccinations for school)

Until next time,

Dianaaaa

Leave a Reply

